

2008 APR -1 PM 2:40

# WEST VIRGINIA LEGISLATURE RESEARCE SEVENTY-EIGHTH LEGISLATURE REGULAR SESSION, 2008

COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE

## FOR ENROLLED Senate Bill No. 291

(SENATORS HELMICK AND YODER, original sponsors)

[Passed March 7, 2008; in effect ninety days from passage.]



2008 APR -1 PM 2: 40

(CT MEE LEUSE DE LEVA SECTIL MAY OF SUATE 💋

### ENROLLED

### COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE

### FOR

### Senate Bill No. 291

(SENATORS HELMICK and YODER, original sponsors)

[Passed March 7, 2008; in effect ninety days from passage.]

AN ACT to amend and reenact §51-2-1 of the Code of West Virginia, 1931, as amended, relating to authorizing an additional circuit court judge to each of the ninth, twenty-second and twenty-fourth judicial circuits.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of West Virginia:

That §51-2-1 of the Code of West Virginia, 1931, as amended, be amended and reenacted to read as follows:

### Enr. Com. Sub. for S. B. No. 291] 2

#### ARTICLE 2. CIRCUIT COURTS; CIRCUIT JUDGES.

### §51-2-1. Judicial circuits; terms of office; legislative findings and declarations; elections; terms of court.

- (a) The state shall be divided into the following
   judicial circuits with the following number of judges:
- 3 (1) The counties of Brooke, Hancock and Ohio shall
  4 constitute the first circuit and shall have four judges;
- 5 (2) The counties of Marshall, Tyler and Wetzel shall
  6 constitute the second circuit and shall have two judges;
- 7 (3) The counties of Doddridge, Pleasants and Ritchie
  8 shall constitute the third circuit and shall have one
  9 judge;
- (4) The counties of Wood and Wirt shall constitute thefourth circuit and shall have three judges;
- 12 (5) The counties of Calhoun, Jackson, Mason and
  13 Roane shall constitute the fifth circuit and shall have
  14 two judges;
- (6) The county of Cabell shall constitute the sixthcircuit and shall have four judges;
- 17 (7) The county of Logan shall constitute the seventh18 circuit and shall have two judges;
- (8) The county of McDowell shall constitute the eighthcircuit and shall have two judges;
- (9) The county of Mercer shall constitute the ninthcircuit and shall have two judges: *Provided*, That

23effective the first day of September, two thousand eight, said circuit shall have three judges; 2425(10) The county of Raleigh shall constitute the tenth circuit and shall have three judges; 2627 (11) The counties of Greenbrier and Pocahontas shall constitute the eleventh circuit and shall have two 28 29judges; 30 (12) The county of Fayette shall constitute the twelfth 31circuit and shall have two judges; 32(13) The county of Kanawha shall constitute the 33 thirteenth circuit and shall have seven judges; 34 (14) The counties of Braxton, Clay, Gilmer and Webster shall constitute the fourteenth circuit and shall 35 36 have two judges; 37 (15) The county of Harrison shall constitute the fifteenth circuit and shall have three judges; 38 39 (16) The county of Marion shall constitute the sixteenth circuit and shall have two judges; 40 41 (17) The county of Monongalia shall constitute the 42 seventeenth circuit and shall have two judges; 43 (18) The county of Preston shall constitute the 44 eighteenth circuit and shall have one judge; 45 (19) The counties of Barbour and Taylor shall 46 constitute the nineteenth circuit and shall have one 47 judge;

Enr. Com. Sub. for S. B. No. 291] 4

48 (20) The county of Randolph shall constitute the 49 twentieth circuit and shall have one judge; 50 (21) The counties of Grant, Mineral and Tucker shall 51 constitute the twenty-first circuit and shall have two 52judges; 53 (22) The counties of Hampshire, Hardy and Pendleton shall constitute the twenty-second circuit and shall have 54 55 one judge: Provided, That effective the first day of 56 September, two thousand eight, said circuit shall have 57 two judges; 58 (23) The counties of Berkeley, Jefferson and Morgan 59 shall constitute the twenty-third circuit and shall have 60 five judges; 61 (24) The county of Wayne shall constitute the twenty-fourth circuit and shall have one judge: 62 *Provided*, That effective the first day of September, two 63 64 thousand eight, said circuit shall have two judges; 65 (25) The counties of Lincoln and Boone shall 66 constitute the twenty-fifth circuit and shall have two 67 judges; 68 (26) The counties of Lewis and Upshur shall constitute 69 the twenty-sixth circuit and shall have one judge; 70 (27) The county of Wyoming shall constitute the 71 twenty-seventh circuit and shall have one judge: 72 (28) The county of Nicholas shall constitute the 73 twenty-eighth circuit and shall have one judge;

74 (29) The county of Putnam shall constitute the75 twenty-ninth circuit and shall have two judges;

(30) The county of Mingo shall constitute the thirtiethcircuit and shall have one judge; and

(31) The counties of Monroe and Summers shallconstitute the thirty-first circuit and shall have onejudge.

(b) The Kanawha County circuit court shall be a court
of concurrent jurisdiction with each single judge circuit
where the sitting judge in the single judge circuit is
unavailable by reason of sickness, vacation or other
reason.

(c) Any judge in office on the effective date of the
reenactment of this section shall continue as a judge of
the circuit as constituted under prior enactments of this
section, unless sooner removed or retired as provided by
law, until the thirty-first day of December, two
thousand eight.

(d) The term of office of all circuit court judges shall
be for eight years. The term of office for all circuit court
judges elected during the general election conducted in
the year two thousand eight shall commence on the first
day of January, two thousand nine, and end on the
thirty-first day of December, two thousand sixteen.

(e) For election purposes, in every judicial circuit
having two or more judges there shall be numbered
divisions corresponding to the number of circuit judges
in each circuit. Each judge shall be elected at large
from the entire circuit. In each numbered division of a

Enr. Com. Sub. for S. B. No. 291] 6

103 judicial circuit, the candidates for nomination or election shall be voted upon and the votes cast for the 104 105 candidates in each division shall be tallied separately 106 from the votes cast for candidates in other numbered divisions within the circuit. The candidate receiving the 107 highest number of the votes cast within a numbered 108 109 division shall be nominated or elected, as the case may 110 be.

(f) Judges serving a judicial circuit comprised of fouror more counties with two or more judges shall not beresidents of the same county.

(g) The Supreme Court of Appeals shall, by rule,establish the terms of court of circuit judges.

7 [Enr. Com. Sub for S. B. No. 291

The Joint Committee on Enrolled Bills hereby certifies that the foregoing bill is correctly enrolled.

Chairman Senate Committee Chairman House Committee Originated in the Senate.

In effect ninety days from passage.

Clerk of the Senate

Snerry Z. S. Clerk of the House of Delegates

President of the Senate

Speaker House of Delegates

The within Mr. applored this the Day of ..... 2008. Governor

### PRESENTED TO THE GOVERNOR

MAR 2 1 2008

Time 9. Ham